Vitamine C

vitCAperçu du traitement

La vitamine C (acide ascorbique) est une vitamine hydrosoluble essentielle pour de nombreux processus biologiques naturels, dont la production de neurotransmetteurs. La vitamine C est également un antioxydant qui protège l’organisme contre les radicaux libres.

La vitamine C est offerte en vente libre ou en ligne dans les épiceries, les pharmacies ou les magasins d’aliments santé. Elle peut être prise tous les jours. Même si on ne connaît pas la dose appropriée pour les enfants atteints d’autisme, des chercheurs ont utilisé une dose de 8 g/70 kg/jour (soit environ 2 g par jour pour un enfant de 40 lb) prise deux ou trois fois par jour. Si vous choisissez la vitamine C comme thérapie complémentaire, demandez au pédiatre de votre enfant quelle dose lui convient.

Certains enfants atteints d’autisme peuvent présenter une carence en vitamine C. Selon une étude, les enfants atteints d’autisme présentaient des taux normaux de vitamine C. Une autre étude a montré, au contraire, que les taux de vitamine C étaient peu élevés chez les enfants atteints d’autisme. Certains chercheurs estiment cependant que la prise de suppléments de vitamine C peut être bénéfique même pour les enfants présentant des taux normaux de vitamine C.

Il est démontré que la vitamine C a un effet apaisant sur le comportement humain. Chez l’animal, le comportement stéréotypé, l’une des caractéristiques de l’autisme, a été amélioré grâce à un traitement à la vitamine C. Les scientifiques émettent l’hypothèse que si la vitamine C produit un tel effet, c’est qu’elle a une incidence sur la réponse du cerveau à un important neurotransmetteur, la dopamine 6.

Une autre explication de l’efficacité de la vitamine C est liée à ses propriétés antioxydantes. Certains chercheurs ont émis l’hypothèse que les enfants atteints d’autisme peuvent avoir plus de mal à traiter les radicaux libres que les autres enfants. Les radicaux libres sont dommageables pour le cerveau, le système immunitaire et l’organisme en général. La vitamine C, grâce à ses propriétés antioxydantes, protège l’organisme contre leurs effets néfastes.

Jusqu’à présent, une seule étude contrôlée a montré que la vitamine C pouvait être intégrée au programme de traitement des problèmes comportementaux associés à l’autisme. Durant cette étude à double insu, l’administration de fortes doses de vitamine C a eu des effets positifs importants sur le comportement d’enfants atteints d’autisme. Ces effets n’ont pas été observés chez les enfants ayant reçu un placebo. Il s’agissait cependant d’une étude de très faible envergure (seulement 18 enfants y ont participé) qui n’a pas été répliquée.

Dans une autre étude, on a montré que de fortes doses de vitamine C pouvaient contribuer à diminuer les problèmes d’insomnie et les troubles gastro-intestinaux chez les enfants atteints d’autisme. La vitamine C reçue par les enfants qui ont participé à cette étude a été prise avec d’autres vitamines. On ne peut donc pas dire à quelle vitamine sont associés les résultats positifs observés.

La plupart des personnes considèrent que la vitamine C est inoffensive. Toutefois, la tolérance à la vitamine C peut varier. Vous devez donc surveiller attentivement votre enfant pour vous assurer de l’absence chez lui de maux d’estomac ou de symptômes diarrhéiques. Parlez au pédiatre de votre enfant avant de commencer le traitement.

Références

  • Levy, S.E., and S.L. Hyman. 2005. « Novel treatments for autistic spectrum disorders. » Ment Retard.Dev Disabil.Res Rev. 11(2):131-142.
  • Dolske, M.C., et al. 1993. « A preliminary trial of ascorbic acid as supplemental therapy for autism. » Prog.Neuropsychopharmacol.Biol.Psychiatry 17(5):765-774.
  • Sankar, D. 1979. « Plasma levels of folates, riboflavin, vitamin B6, and ascorbate in severely disturbed children. » Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders 9:73-82.
  • Adams, J.B., and C. Holloway. 2004. « Pilot study of a moderate dose multivitamin/mineral supplement for children with autistic spectrum disorder. » J Altern.Complement Med. 10(6):1033-1039.
  • Pierce, R.C., et al. 1991. « Chronic ascorbate potentiates the effects of chronic haloperidol on behavioral supersensitivity but not D2 dopamine receptor binding. » Neuroscience 45(2):373-378.
  • Deshpande, C., et al. 2006. « Antagonistic activity of ascorbic acid (vitamin C) on dopaminergic modulation: apomorphine-induced stereotypic behavior in mice. » Pharmacology 77(1):38-45.
  • Ming, X., et al. 2005. « Increased excretion of a lipid peroxidation biomarker in autism. » Prostaglandins Leukot.Essent.Fatty Acids 73(5):379-384.
  • Yao, Y., et al. 2006. « Altered vascular phenotype in autism: correlation with oxidative stress. » Arch.Neurol. 63(8):1161-1164.
  • Hyman S.L., and S.E. Levy. 2000. « Autism spectrum disorders: When traditional medicine is not enough. » Contemporary Pediatrics 10:101-113.

Par Lara Pullen, Ph.D. L’information sur cette page a été reproduite avec la permission de Healing Thresholds. Copyright (c) 2007, Healing Thresholds, inc. Tous droits réservés.

Avis de non-responsabilité

Les informations, les données et le matériel contenus, présentés et fournis sur ce site le sont à titre d’information générale uniquement. Ils ne reflètent pas les connaissances ou les opinions d’Autisme Canada et ne doivent pas être perçus comme des conseils d’ordre juridique ou médical. Toutes les décisions concernant les traitements doivent être prises par la personne en consultation avec un fournisseur de soins de santé certifié.

Vitamin C

Social Media

vitCTreatment Overview

Vitamin C (ascorbic acid) is an essential water-soluble vitamin important for many normally occurring biological processes, including the production of neurotransmitters. Vitamin C also acts as an anti-oxidant, protecting the body against damaging free radicals.

Vitamin C can be purchased over-the-counter online, or at grocery, drug, or health-food stores. It can be taken every day. Unfortunately, it is not clear what the proper dose for children with autism should be, but one research report used a dose of 8 grams/70 kg/day (or about 2 grams daily for a 40-pound child) divided into two or three doses. If you choose vitamin C as an alternative therapy, ask your child’s pediatrician what dose is appropriate for your child.

Some children with autism may have a vitamin C deficiency. One study demonstrated normal vitamin C levels among children with autism, while another reported low levels. Some investigators believe, however, that supplementation with vitamin C can be helpful even for children with normal levels of vitamin C.

Vitamin C has been shown to have a calming effect on behaviour in humans. In animals, stereotyped behaviour, one of the characteristics of autism, was reduced by treatment with vitamin C. Scientists hypothesize that vitamin C has these effects because it affects the brain’s response to an important neurotransmitter called dopamine 6.

Another explanation for the effectiveness of vitamin C is its anti-oxidant properties. Some researchers have theorized that children with autism may have more trouble managing free radicals than other children. Free radicals are damaging for the brain, immune system, and the body in general. Because it is an anti-oxidant, vitamin C can protect the body against the damaging effects of free radicals.

So far, only one controlled study has shown that vitamin C can help treat behavioural problems associated with autism. This double-blind experiment showed that high doses of vitamin C in children with autism had significant positive effects on behaviour, compared against their own behaviour scores when they were taking a placebo. However, this study was very small (only 18 children), and has not been replicated.

Another research report showed that high doses of vitamin C may help sleep and gastrointestinal problems in children with autism. In this study, vitamin C was taken along with other vitamins, so it’s not clear which vitamin was responsible for the positive outcomes.

For most people, vitamin C is thought to be harmless. However, tolerance for vitamin C can vary. Therefore, you should watch your child carefully for signs of an upset stomach or diarrhea. Check with your child’s pediatrician before starting treatment.

References

  • Levy, S.E., and S.L. Hyman. 2005. “Novel treatments for autistic spectrum disorders.” Ment Retard.Dev Disabil.Res Rev. 11(2):131-142.
  • Dolske, M.C., et al. 1993. “A preliminary trial of ascorbic acid as supplemental therapy for autism.” Prog.Neuropsychopharmacol.Biol.Psychiatry 17(5):765-774.
  • Sankar, D. 1979. “Plasma levels of folates, riboflavin, vitamin B6, and ascorbate in severely disturbed children.” Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders 9:73-82.
  • Adams, J.B., and C. Holloway. 2004. “Pilot study of a moderate dose multivitamin/mineral supplement for children with autistic spectrum disorder.” J Altern.Complement Med. 10(6):1033-1039.
  • Pierce, R.C., et al. 1991. “Chronic ascorbate potentiates the effects of chronic haloperidol on behavioral supersensitivity but not D2 dopamine receptor binding.” Neuroscience 45(2):373-378.
  • Deshpande, C., et al. 2006. “Antagonistic activity of ascorbic acid (vitamin C) on dopaminergic modulation: apomorphine-induced stereotypic behavior in mice.” Pharmacology 77(1):38-45.
  • Ming, X., et al. 2005. “Increased excretion of a lipid peroxidation biomarker in autism.” Prostaglandins Leukot.Essent.Fatty Acids 73(5):379-384.
  • Yao, Y., et al. 2006. “Altered vascular phenotype in autism: correlation with oxidative stress.” Arch.Neurol. 63(8):1161-1164.
  • Hyman S.L., and S.E. Levy. 2000. “Autism spectrum disorders: When traditional medicine is not enough.” Contemporary Pediatrics 10:101-113.

By Lara Pullen, PhD. The information from this page was reprinted with permission from Healing Thresholds. “Copyright (c) 2007, Healing Thresholds, Inc. All rights reserved”.

 

All information, data and material contained, presented or provided here is for general information purposes only and is not to be construed as reflecting the knowledge or opinions of Autism Canada, or as providing legal or medical advice. All treatment decisions should be made by the individual in consultation with a licensed health care provider.